Coach No.1: Pierre Phelipon (1970-72 - 74 matches)

At 35 years of age and after having played as defender for Racing, Stade Français, Rouen, Grenoble and Angoulême, Phelipon became the first ever coach of PSG in 1970 – a year after having already replaced the emblematic Stade Sangermanois coach, Roger Quenolle. He didn’t hesitate in re-lacing up the boots to help out his defence and managed to mould together a competitive outfit comprising both amateur and professional players. After a winning start (champion of France in the National second division), Pierre Phelipon courageously guided his side in the French top flight, despite the difficult relations between Parisians and Sangermanois. He quit the club in 1972 and pursued his coaching career at Bordeaux, Cambrai and Tours.

 

Coach No.2: Robert Vicot (1972-75 - 131 matches)

A no-holes-barred defender for the Sporting Club de Toulon, Vicot moved into coaching with Le Lavandou (1964) and then Châteauroux. He began his Parisian career with the Under-18s, whom he took to the semi-final of the Gambardella youth cup, before replacing Phelipon at the helm of the senior squad in 1972. Daniel Hechter kept him on alongside Justo Fontaine for two seasons, but the two men finally fell out at the start of the 1975-76 season. Vicot refused the club’s offer as reserve team coach and chief of recruitment and left the capital. He continued coaching with Rouen and PFC before turning his attentions to the Gabon national team.

Coach No.3: Justo Fontaine (1973-76 - 137 matches)

Legendary goal-scorer for Reims and France (30 goals in 20 caps), Fontaine still holds the record for the most goals scored in a World Cup finals tournament (13 goals in 1958). After suffering a serious leg injury, Fontaine took over the coaching reins of the France national team before accepting Daniel Hechter’s challenge of creating a great club in the French capital. He was the driving force behind the teams promotion to the first division in 1974, promoting attacking and seductive football. But the friendship between Daniel Hechter and Justo Fontaine would end in tatters in 1976 – law suits, damages, contractual disputes… Justo went on to coach Toulouse as well as the Moroccan national team.

Coach No.4: Velibor Vasovic (1976-77 and 1978-79 - 73 matches)

A Yugoslavia international (32 caps, 2 goals), Vasovic won no less that 14 trophies during a glittering playing career that took him from Partizan to Red Star Belgrade and then Ajax Amsterdam. The pick of the bunch was the European Cup he won alongside Johan Cruyff for Ajax on June 2,1971: 2-0 versus Panathinaikos. A passionate coach, he managed Partizan Belgrade and Angers before signing for Paris, with the aim of qualifying the club for European competition. Despite a largely positive campaign, he quit the club after narrowly missing out on the UEFA Cup and despite being offered a new deal to remain at the club. Vasovic was back 16 months later, answering the call from President Borelli, however the results didn’t follow. Exasperated by the pressures applied from the Coaches Union (presided over by Guy Roux), Vasovic quit France suddenly in 1979, continuing his coaching at, amongst others, Ethnikos (Greece) and Red Star Belgrade. An asthma sufferer, he retired from coaching to concentrate on his law career in the 1990s. Velibor Vasovic passed away on March 4 2002, after suffering a heart attack.

Coach No.5: Jean-Michel Larque (1977-78 - 48 matches)

A playmaker for the France national team (15 caps) and former captain of Saint-Etienne (seven national titles and four Cups), Jean-Michel Larqué ended his playing career to take up the post of coach at Paris Saint-Germain in 1977. However, the absence of a veritable playmaker in his squad quickly saw him re-don the boots and adopt a player-coach role which proved difficult to sustain in Ligue 1. Paris found itself sitting bottom of the table when Larqué decided to concentrate solely on his coaching, but the average results confirmed the failure of his tenure and a year after finally hanging up his boots he became general manager of the club before quitting professional football and joining the Racing-Club de France. He then embarked on a successful television commentary career alongside Thierry Roland.

Coach No.6: Pierre Alonzo (1976-77, 1978-79 and 1979-80 - 18 matches)

A player with Aïn-Temouchent and Avellaneda (both in Algeria), Pierre Alonzo arrived in France in 1961, playing for Red-Star and Cannes before ending his playing career with Menton. In 1971, after fulfilling a educational role with underprivileged and intellectually disabled children, Alonzo passed his coaching badge. He coached Saint-Tropez where he met Daniel Hechter and eventually married Hechter’s sister. He joined the PSG youth centre in 1976, before taking charge of the senior team on three different occasions – twice, alongside Ilja Pantelic in 1977, and Camille Choquier in 1979, as interim manager. In 1978, following the departure of Jean-Michel Larqué, he was finally given the top job, only for President Francis Borelli to quickly change his mind and recall Vasovic – an about-face which provoked Alonzo’s leaving the capital the continue his coaching career at Périgueux, Nice and Cannes. Luis Fernandez, who debuted under Alonzo, brought him back as an assistant coach in 1994. Alonzo followed Luis to Athletic Bilbao, and again to Paris in December 2000. Midway through 2001 he retired from the world of professional football, although he continued to follow the fortunes of PSG via his goalkeeping son Jérôme who played for PSG between 2001 and 2008.

1er entraîneur : Pierre Phelipon (1970/72 - 74 matches)

A 35 ans, après avoir joué successivement défenseur au Racing, au Stade Français, à Rouen, à Grenoble et à Angoulême, Phelipon devient le premier entraîneur du PSG en 1970, un an après avoir remplacé l’emblématique coach du Stade Sangermanois, Roger Quenolle. Il n'hésite pas à remettre les crampons pour renforcer la défense de son équipe et parvient à fédérer un effectif composé d’amateurs et de professionnels. Après une première saison réussie (champion de France du National), Pierre Phelipon dirige avec courage son équipe en première division malgré les rapports tendus entre Parisiens et Sangermanois. Il quitte le club en 1972 et poursuit sa carrière d'entraîneur à Bordeaux, Cambrai et Tours.

 

2e entraîneur : Robert Vicot (1972/75 - 131 matches)

Défenseur intraitable au Sporting Club de Toulon, Vicot met un terme à sa carrière et dirige Le Lavandou (1964) puis Châteauroux. Il débute au PSG en tant qu’entraîneur des jeunes (18 ans). Il mènera son groupe en demi-finale de la coupe Gambardella, puis prendra logiquement la succession de Phelipon en 1972. Daniel Hechter lui maintient sa confiance aux côtés de Justo Fontaine pendant deux saisons, mais au début de la saison 1975-76 la rupture est consommée entre les deux hommes. Vicot refuse la proposition des dirigeants parisiens qui souhaitent lui confier la direction de l’équipe réserve et le recrutement, et quitte la capitale. Il rebondit à Rouen avant d’entraîner le PFC puis l'équipe nationale du Gabon.

3e entraîneur : Justo Fontaine (1973/76 - 137 matches)

Buteur légendaire de Reims et de l'équipe de France (20 sélections et 30 buts), Fontaine détient toujours le record du meilleur buteur en phase finale de la Coupe du Monde (13 buts en 1958). Après une grave blessure à la jambe, il devient un éphémère sélectionneur tricolore en 1969 puis accepte le challenge de Daniel Hechter, qui souhaite bâtir une grande équipe de football à Paris. Il est le principal artisan de la montée en L1 en 1974, s’appuyant sur un football offensif et séduisant. Mais l’histoire d’amitié entre Daniel Hechter et Justo Fontaine se termine dans la douleur en 1976 : procès, indemnités pour rupture de contrat… Justo poursuivra sa carrière d’entraîneur à Toulouse, puis en dirigeant la sélection du Maroc.

4e entraîneur : Velibor Vasovic (1976/77 et 1978/79 - 73 matches)

International yougoslave (32 sélections, 2 buts), Vasovic a remporté en tant que joueur quatorze coupes et titres avec le Partizan, l'Etoile Rouge de Belgrade puis l'Ajax d'Amsterdam. Sa principale fierté : son succès en Coupe d'Europe des Clubs Champions avec l'Ajax de Johan Cruyff le 2 juin 1971, contre le Panathinaïkos (2-0). Entraîneur passionné, il dirige le Partizan de Belgrade et Angers avant de signer à Paris. Avec comme unique objectif, une qualification pour une coupe européenne. Malgré une saison positive, il échoue de peu et quitte le club, malgré une proposition de prolongation de contrat. Vasovic revient seize mois plus tard à la demande du président Borelli, mais les résultats sont décevants. Excédé par les pressions du syndicat des entraîneurs et de son président Guy Roux, il quitte soudainement la France en 1979. Vasovic poursuit sa carrière, entraînant notamment Ethnikos (Grèce) et l'Etoile Rouge de Belgrade. Atteint d’asthme, il cesse d’entraîner pour se consacrer à son métier d’avocat dans les années 90. Velibor Vasovic décède le 4 mars 2002, victime d’une crise cardiaque.

5e entraîneur : Jean-Michel Larqué (1977/78 - 48 matches)

Meneur de jeu de l'équipe de France (15 sélections) et capitaine de Saint-Etienne (sept titres de champion de France et quatre coupes nationales), Larqué met prématurément un terme à sa carrière en 1977 pour devenir l'entraîneur du PSG. L'absence de meneur de jeu l'oblige à revenir sur le terrain pour occuper un poste d’entraîneur-joueur, difficilement compatible avec le niveau et l’exigence de la L1. Paris se retrouve dernier du championnat et il décide de se consacrer uniquement au poste d’entraîneur. Les résultats sont moyens, constatant son échec, Larqué redevient alors simple joueur un an après son arrivée au PSG. Après avoir mis définitivement fin à sa carrière de joueur, il devient quelques semaines manager général du club, puis quitte le football professionnel et rejoint le Racing-Club de France avant de débuter une carrière de commentateur télé en duo avec son compère Thierry Roland.

6e entraîneur : Pierre Alonzo (1976/77, 1978/79, 1979/80 - 18 matches)

Joueur à Aïn-Temouchent et Avellaneda (Algérie), il rejoint la France en 1961, signe au Red-Star, puis à Cannes et termine sa carrière à Menton. En 1971, après avoir tenu un rôle d’éducateur auprès d’enfants délinquants ou atteints de déficiences intellectuelles, il obtient ses diplômes d’entraîneur. Alonzo dirige Saint-Tropez où il rencontre Daniel Hechter, dont il épouse la sœur. Il rejoint le PSG en 1976, dirige le centre de formation puis prend en main l'équipe première à trois reprises. Deux fois en duo avec Ilja Pantelic (1977) puis Camille Choquier (1979) pour assurer un intérim sans lendemain. En 1978, après le départ de Larqué, il semble enfin avoir la confiance de ses dirigeants. Malheureusement, Francis Borelli change rapidement d'avis et rappelle Vasovic, provoquant le départ d'Alonzo qui poursuit sa carrière à Périgueux, Nice et Cannes. Luis Fernandez, qui a débuté sous sa direction, en fait un adjoint précieux lors de son retour au PSG en 1994. Alonzo suit Luis à l'Athletic Bilbao, puis à Paris en décembre 2000 au poste d’entraîneur adjoint. Six mois plus tard, il prend sa retraite et quitte le monde du football professionnel. Il suit toujours avec attention les performances du PSG et de son fils Jérôme, gardien de but depuis deux saisons.